Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Content Analysis
 Wizard Forum : Content Analysis
Subject Topic: Consistency Bonuses Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Wenona

Posted: 01 August 2003 at 4:56pm | IP Logged Quote Wenona

I have been using the Wizard for many years, and the hardest thing I have found to deal with is the inclusion in the ratings figures of large consistency bonuses. I actually rang many years ago and was told it was not possible to get the criteria and bonuses used. I therefore spent about three years working out what I thought were the bonuses used through direct comparisons of runners who raced against each other.

The reason I did this is because I find the adjustments used for consistency in the Wizard ratings (up to +4kgs) to be far beyond any adjustements I would use in my own analysis.

I think it would be very helpfull to disclose the adjustments used for consistency so that people analysing a race can make adjustments to reflect their own opinion.

For the record my calculation of the adjustments used in the Wizard ratings (standardised to the lowest being +0) are as follows:

HORSES THAT HAVE HAD 13 STARTS OR MORE:
Win% - Consistency Bonus
0-4 : Zero Bonus
5-9 : +.5Kg
10-14 : +1.5kg     
15-29 : +2.5kg
30-39 : +3kg
40-49 : +3.5kg
50 and above +4kg

HORSES THAT HAVE HAD 1-12 STARTS
Win% - Consistency Bonus
Maiden : +1kg
1-14 : +2kg
15-24 : +2.5kg
25-59 : +3.5kg
60 and above : +4kg

Of course I would be very interested to know how close I got to the actual schedule.

Regards Wenona
Back to Top View Wenona's Profile Search for other posts by Wenona Send Private Message Add to Buddy List

warrenblock

Posted: 01 August 2003 at 5:27pm | IP Logged Quote warrenblock

G'day Wenona